Simone Moro and Denis Urubko win Eiger Award 2009 - Up-Climbing

Simone Moro and Denis Urubko win Eiger Award 2009

The Eiger Award is given to people who, through their involvement in the areas of mountaineering achievement,  have made a substantial contribution in favour of the biosphere and the world of mountains.  closer to the general public.Presentation of the Eiger Award represents the crowing conclusion of the Eiger live Week that takes place in Grindelwlad every year at the opening of the summer season In 2008 Grindelwald was launching the Eiger Award – the Oscar of mountaineering.
The first winner – in 2008 – was Ueli Steck.
The criteria for determining the giving of the Eiger Awad are therefore consciously kept very broad. It is awarded to people who have repeatedly achieved top performances in mountaineering, but also to those who are able to convey their experiences in the mountains with great conviction and enthusiasm
The winners of 2009 prestigious award are Simone Moro and Denis Urubko, for their prominent  results in Himalaya as the recent first winter ascent of Makalu on 2009 february 9th. Urubko just completed his 14x 8000ers in alpine style and first ascended several new routes.
Röbi Bösch got the special Eiger award that recognizes and rewards a gifted and committed photographer who has completed meaningful work as a mountains and climbing photographer

eiger award