Piolet d'Or 2010 ex aequo Kazaks and Americans - Up-Climbing

Piolet d’Or 2010 ex aequo Kazaks and Americans

The Jury, composed by Andrej Stremfelj, winner of the First Piolet d’or in 1991)  Jordi Corominas (Spain), Robert Schauer (Austria), Kei Taniguchi (Japan )  Lindsay Griffin (UK) and  Anna Piunova (Russia),  awarded with Piolet d’or  2010 ( Golden Ice Ax) two team: Kazakh Dedechko and Urubko (new route on the southeast face of Cho Oyu (8201m) in Nepal) and Americans Jed Brown and Kyle Dempster, and Scotsman Bruce Normand (First ascent of a north-facing buttress along the west ridge of Xuelian Feng  in China.

The final 5 nominees (selected on 52 ascents) for 18th Piolets d’or (Golden Ice Axe) awards were:
1) Cho Oyu, 8201 m Nepal by Denis Urubko and  Boris Dedechko  
see more here and here and here
Route name: Dedechko-Urubko
Heght : 2600 m
Difficulties declared : M6, 6b, A2/A3
2009 May  from 11 to 15

2) Chang Himal, 6750 m – Nepal by Nick BullockandAndy Houseman .
see more here
Name of the route  Bullock-Houseman
Height : 1800 m
Difficulties declared : M6
2009 October 29 to November 2nd
3) Gongga nord-ovest Peak  6134m –  China byMikhail Mikhailov and  Alexander Ruchkin
see more here  and here
Name of the route: Carte Blanche
Height: 1100m.
Difficulties proposed : 6c, mixed and ice 75°
2009, April
4) Xuelian Feng, 6422 m Cina byJed Brown, Kyle Dempster and  Bruce Normand 
Name of the route : The Great White Jade Heist 
Height : 2650 m.
Difficulties declared :WI 5, rock 5, mixed M6.
2009 August 26\29
see more here
5) Pic Pobeda, 7439m  Kirghizistan  byVitaly GorelikandGleb Sokolov  
see more here
Name of the route : Sokolov/Gorelik
Height : 2400 m.
Difficulty proposed : ED
2009 August 20\29